Delete a server

A server is deleted either when a service is moving to a new server (create the new server, first), or when a service is being retired.

  1. If appropriate, notify relevant users of the change
  2. Remove the server from Prometheus
  3. Shutdown the server via the host’s interface
  4. Remove all occurrences of the server’s FQDN and IP address from this repository

If the service is being retired:

  1. Remove its configuration from this repository
  2. Remove its DNS entries from GoDaddy
  3. Remove its downtime monitor from UptimeRobot
  4. Remove its error monitor from Sentry

Finally:

  1. Cancel the server via the host’s interface